Skip to main content

Jennifer Egan


Jennifer Egan

Jennifer Egan is the author of several novels and a short story collection. Her new novel, MANHATTAN BEACH, published last fall and has been awarded the 2018 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction. Her last novel, A VISIT FROM THE GOON SQUAD, won the 2011 Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Critics Circle Award, and the Los Angeles Times book prize. Also a journalist, she has written frequently in the New York Times Magazine.

Books by Jennifer Egan

by Jennifer Egan - Fiction, Historical Fiction

Anna Kerrigan accompanies her father to visit Dexter Styles, a man who, she gleans, is crucial to the survival of her father and her family. She is mesmerized by the sea beyond the house and by some charged mystery between the two men. Years later, her father has disappeared and the country is at war. Anna works at the Brooklyn Naval Yard, where women are allowed to hold jobs that once belonged to men, now soldiers abroad. She becomes the first female diver, repairing the ships that will help America win the war. One evening at a nightclub, she meets Dexter Styles again, and begins to understand the complexity of her father’s life and the reasons he might have vanished.

written by Jennifer Egan; read by Heather Lind, Norbert Leo Butz and Vincent Piazza - Fiction, Historical Fiction