Skip to main content

Cormac McCarthy


Cormac McCarthy

Born in Rhode Island in 1933, Cormac McCarthy was originally named Charles (after his father), but changed his name to Cormac after the Irish King. Raised Roman Catholic, he attended the University of Tennessee in 1951 where he concentrated in Liberal Arts. He left school in 1953 to join the Air Force, returned in 1957, and left again in 1960 without having earned a degree. During this time he married Lee Holleman, a fellow student, and they had a son, Cullen.

In 1965 he published his first novel, THE ORCHARD KEEPER (his editor at Random House was Faulkner's long time editor, Albert Erskine). In 1966 he married Anne DeLisle, a young English singer/dancer. BLOOD MERIDIAN was published in 1985, and while it received little critical attention it is now widely regarded as McCarthy's finest work. The first volume of the Border Trilogy, ALL THE PRETTY HORSES, was published in 1992, followed by THE CROSSING and CITIES OF THE PLAIN.

Cormac McCarthy

Books by Cormac McCarthy

by Cormac McCarthy - Fiction, Screenplay

Along the gritty terrain of the Texas-Mexico border, a respected and recently engaged lawyer throws his stakes into a cocaine trade worth millions. His hope is that it will be a one-time deal and that, afterward, he can settle into life with his beloved fiancée. But instead, the Counselor finds himself mired in a brutal and dangerous game --- one that threatens to destroy everything and everyone he loves. Deft, shocking, and unforgettable, McCarthy is at his finest in this gripping tale about risk, consequence, and the treacherous balance between the two.

by Cormac McCarthy - Fiction, Literary Fiction

Cormac McCarthy, winner of the National Book Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award, returns with his 10th novel, a terrifying "what if" story about the apocalypse. A father and his son travel the road in search of food, safety and humanity after a nuclear war has wiped out society and most of the human race.